Reference Documents: HSPBA Profile-Based Classification System

A profile is a document that describes the nature of work performed and includes a representative sample of the responsibilities found in a level of work within professions, and that is used specifically to classify jobs. Profiles are general enough to encompass all areas and levels of each health science profession within the bargaining unit, but specific enough to differentiate between them.

The new profile-based classification system is based on two types of classification profiles: working professionals and supervisory/leadership.

Working Professionals

The working professional classification profiles are divided into the P1 and P2 profiles.

The P1 Working Professional profile encompasses what was formerly called the grade 1 or staff level but also includes responsibilities such as sole charge, supervision of students, and working without general supervision. The majority of health science professional jobs fall within a P1 profile.

There are 18 P1 Working Professional profiles, divided into different professional groupings. These are intended to assist you in determining which profile (p1, P2A, P2B, S1-S4) correctly matches with your job. Click here to see a chart listing which professions are in each professional grouping and then review the corresponding P1 Working Professional profile, which is linked below:

P2 Advanced Working Professional profiles have two classifications, P2A and P2B; the P2B profile has five sub-profiles (E, S, I, Q, and R). The P2 profiles encompass the many former classifications that were above what is now the P1 level. The advanced working level classifications/subclassifications are:


The supervisory/leadership classifications include four profiles, which are based upon the classification level of staff supervised:

The four profiles each have four pay levels, which are based upon the number of full-time equivalent staff (FTEs) supervised. The pay levels are:

  • Up to 8 FTE
  • More than 8 FTE and up to 16 FTE
  • More than 16 FTE and up to 24 FTE
  • More than 24 FTE