Canadian Health Professionals Secretariat names new co-chair

Elisabeth Ballermann has been named Co-chair of the Canadian Health Professionals Secretariat (CHPS), a national advocacy body that represents more than 60,000 health science professionals in more than 100 disciplines.

These workers deliver the diagnostic, clinical and rehabilitation services essential to timely and quality health care.

The National Union of Public and General Employees (NUPGE) created the CHPS to help address the challenges and opportunities faced by health science professionals and to raise their profile across the country.

James Clancy, NUPGE National President, recently announced that Ballermann would be serving as the new Co-Chair. The other Co-Chair is Mike Luff, NUPGE's Coordinator of Research and Communications.

Ballermann is president of the Health Sciences Association of Alberta (HSAA/NUPGE), a union representing more than 14,000 paramedical technical, professional, and general support employees in the public and private health care sectors of Alberta.

More information about CHPS