Community social service members select representatives for bargaining committee


HSA members covered by the Community Social Services Bargaining Association collective agreement held a bargaining proposal conference last week to discuss priorities for the upcoming negotiations. The current collective agreement expires March 31, 2006.

Pat Jacklin, an HSA member at Comox Valley Transition Society, was elected to join Labour Relations Officer Josef Rieder as HSA's representatives on the Community Social Services Bargaining Association of Unions (CSSBA).

Also elected to the HSA bargaining advisory committee were:

Sharon Geoghegan (alternate representative to the bargaining table), John Howard Society
Jagdeep Rakhara, Peace Arch Community Services
Suzanne Lauzon, Central Okanagan Child Development Association
Mike Trelenberg (alternate), Share Family and Community Services
The CSSBA is comprised of community social services workers represented by HSA, B.C. Government and Service Employees Union (BCGEU), Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE), Hospital Employees' Union (HEU), International Union of Operating Engineers (IUOE), B.C. Nurses' Union (BCNU), United Steelworkers' of America (USWA), Canadian Autoworkers Union (CAW), Professional Employees' Association (PEA), United Food and Commercial Workers' Union (UFCW), Construction and Specialized Workers' Union (CSWU), Canadian Translators and Interpreters Guild (CTIG), and Christian Labour Association of Canada (CLAC).

COM 0 006 BL10086