Five board members named after close of nominations

Nominations for the position of representative to the HSA Board of Directors in Regions 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9 closed Thursday February 19 with nominations submitted for one candidate in each of the regions. No elections will be required.
Returning to the board are:
Anne Davis, Region 1. Davis is a Program Coordinator at the Comox Valley Transition Society with an extensive background as a community activist, having served on the boards of several not-for-profit organizations in her area, and has also been involved in local electoral politics.
As a member working in community social services, Davis works to ensure that the perspective of HSA members in this sector continues to be heard, and brings a strong desire and commitment to represent all members of the union.
Cheryl Greenhalgh, Region 3. Greenhalgh previously served on the board of directors, leaving in 2005. She has been a union member for more than 25 years and has been active in HSA for most of her time as a member. A radiography technologist at Royal Columbian hospital, she has served as a steward, strike coordinator, member-at-large, board member and bargaining committee member. She is also active in her community of New Westminster, serving on several local boards and is involved in local, provincial, and federal politics.
Greenhalgh replaces Bruce MacDonald, a renal program social worker, who plans to retire in 2015.
John Christopherson, Region 5.  Christopherson is a counsellor at the Vancouver Cancer Centre. He has served as an assistant chief steward, as a Constituency Liaison, and as a Member-at-Large and on many union committees. He currently sits on the union’s Finance and Presidential Issues Committees. He also served on the HSPBA Bargaining Committee.
Marg Beddis, Region 7. Beddis is a dietitian at Surrey Memorial Hospital, where she has also been a chief steward. Since becoming an HSA member in 1991, she has been active in the union and has served on the Occupational Health and Safety, Political Action, Equality and Social Action and Resolutions committees. She currently serves on the union executive committee as Secretary-Treasurer, overseeing the union's finances.

Janice Morrison, Region 9. Morrison is a physiotherapist at Kootenay Lake Hospital, and has been an HSA member since 1990.  She has served as Assistant Chief Steward, and Chief Steward at Kootenay Lake Hospital, as well as a Member-at-Large. She previously sat on the Committee for Equality and Social Action, the Political Action Committee, and the Trial Committee. In 2014, she was elected by the Board of Directors as the union's Vice President. She previously served as Secretary-Treasurer. She currently serves as a councillor in the City of Nelson, having been elected in the November 2014 municipal election.
The two year term for these directors begins at the conclusion of the 2015 HSA annual convention, Saturday, May 2.