HSA Board of Directors to welcome two new members in May

HSA’s Board of Directors will see two new members join in May 2024.

The nomination period for candidates for Board of Directors to represent members in HSA Regions 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 closed last week with one nomination for each position. No elections are required as each position was filled by acclamation.

Joining the board in May, on adjournment of the union’s annual convention, will be Caroline Widgiz for Region 8 (Kelowna, Kamloops, and Okanagan) and Candis Johnson for Region 10 (Prince George, Prince Rupert, and Northern BC).

Joining in May, Region 8 Director, Caroline Widgiz

Caroline Widgiz has worked for over two decades in rural, mid-sized, and urban centres as a medical laboratory technologist. She currently works at Vernon Jubilee Hospital, where she is lead steward. As an active HSA member, she has participated in various roles, including as a steward and as an elected member-at-large contributing to the Resolutions and Women’s committees. She has served as an HSA labour council delegate on both the East Kootenay and District Labour Council and the North Okanagan Labour Council and has a broad network of colleagues in the labour movement. She replaces Heath McLeod, who served one two-year term representing Region 8 member on the union’s Board of Directors. 

Joining in May, Region 10 Director, Candis Johnson

Candis Johnson is a Supported Child Development and Child and Family Services Consultant at the Child Development Centre of Prince George. She has been an HSA member since 1995, and is an experienced activist in the union. She currently serves as an elected member-at-large, constituency liaison, chair of the trials committee, lead steward, JOH&S Representative in HSA, and served as a member of the HSPBA bargaining committee for the last two round of contract negotiations. She is a delegate to the North Central Labour Council, where she serves as Vice President, bringing

together the voices of union activists throughout the north. She replaces Mandi Ayers, current HSA vice president, and Region 10 director for the past ten years.

Returning to the Board of Directors for two-year terms are:

  • Brooke Carter (Region 2 – Victoria and Vancouver Island South);
  • Alexandra Thomson (Region 4 – Vancouver and Richmond, excluding Providence Health Care, Vancouver Community Mental Health);
  • Nicole McIntosh (Region 6 – Providence Health Care, Vancouver Community Mental Health, North Shore, and Sunshine Coast).

They join the following board members, who are in the middle of two-year terms, along with President Kane Tse.

  • Andrew Duarte (Region 1 – Nanaimo and Vancouver Island North)
  • Jing-Yi Ng (Region 3 – Burnaby, Tri-Cities, and New Westminster, and Secretary-Treasurer)
  • Jill Slind (Region 5 – Children’s and Women’s Hospital, Vancouver and Fraser Valley Cancer Centres)
  • Sarah Kooner (Region 7 – Surrey and Fraser Valley)
  • Kathy Anderson (Region 9 – Cranbrook, Kootenays, and Rockies)

Elections for board members in odd-numbered regions, and for president, will be held in 2025.

Printer Friendly Version