HSA members urged to vote in municipal election

On November 19, 2005 British Columbians head to the polls to elect mayors, municipal councillors, school trustees, and regional district representatives.

These local representatives make decisions that affect our everyday lives, and play a critical role in making our neighbourhoods, towns, and regions places where we want to live. Local politicians also speak up for communities on important local, provincial and federal issues, and are an important voice for our communities with higher levels of government.

On average, fewer than 25 per cent of British Columbians get involved in local elections. HSA urges members to help reverse that trend by learning more about the candidates in your community, and most importantly, by exercising your vote.

As part of its involvement with the Canadian Labour Congress and local Labour Councils, HSA has mailed members a list of the municipal candidates endorsed by the Labour Council in their area. Members can find an updated, expanded list of candidates for their area by clicking on the link below.

General voting day: Saturday, November 19
Voting times: 8:00 am - 8:00 pm

Every community will also hold at least one day of advance voting. Check your local government's website and local community newspapers for information specific to the municipal election in your area, including voting locations and dates for advance voting.

Please note that unlike provincial and federal elections, there are no statutory requirements guaranteeing time off to vote.

Eligible voters who have not received a voting card can register at the voting place when they go to vote. For more information on voter eligibility and other aspects of municipal elections, see the Local Government Election section of the Ministry of Community Services website: www.mcaws.gov.bc.ca/lgd/gov_structure/Elections/index.htm.

Canadian Labour Congress list of Labour Council-endorsed candidates

Note: the following HSA members are running for election on November 19:
Brigid Kemp - Pentiction council
Janice Morrison - Nelson council
Debora Munoz - Prince George council
Bob Phillips - Sooke school board

COM 0 006 BL10083