Pacific Blue Cross Members: Vote Now to Protect Your Benefits

June 14, 2024 Update: Pacific Blue cross has informed members that Pacific Blue Cross will be postponing the upcoming AGM, originally scheduled for June 19, 2024, to a later date, yet to be determined. This includes all associated processes, including the Directors Election.

Wordmark reading "Pacific Blue Cross for Workers"

HSA members have fought hard for our extended health benefits, and to access them we rely on our benefits provider, Pacific Blue Cross (PBC).

As PBC members, the health and well-being of you and your family are directly impacted by the decisions made by the PBC Board of Directors.

PBC is the only not-for-profit health insurance provider in BC, and it's crucial that board members remain committed to a service model that prioritizes people over profits.

Right now, there is an election happening for three seats on PBC's Board of Directors. Your vote in this election is your chance to make your voice heard, and it's important to use it!

CUPE 1816, CUPE BC, and the BC Federation of Labour have endorsed three candidates for PBC's Board of Directors:

Names and small photos of the three candidates

All three of them want PBC to remain a strong, not-for-profit health insurance provider.

There is a lot at stake in this election. This year, Dr. Brian Day is running to be a director of the PBC Board. Dr. Day has a long and well-documented history of trying to dismantle public health care. He wants to be on the Board so he can promote his own privatization agenda, not because he has the best interests of PBC members at heart.

How to vote:

  • Voting is happening right now online via the PBC website. Click here to vote for the endorsed candidates.
  • The voting period closes Monday, June 17 at 4:30 pm. 
  • To vote, you will need your Policy Number and ID Number, which you can find on your PBC ID card. 
  • If you have trouble voting, you can contact PBC for help during business hours at 604-419-2098. 

Let’s make sure that PBC’s Board of Directors remains committed to prioritizing people over profits.

Vote today for Jaime Matten, Patricia Gerber, and Chuanyi (Johnny) Nie to help us protect the benefits we’ve fought so hard for. 

In Solidarity,
Kane Tse
President, Health Sciences Association